Ho Ho Hoffnung - By Gerard Hoffnung

Product Description
$19.00
Maximum quantity available reached.

Ho Ho Hoffnung


Written by: Gerard Hoffnung
Category: Non Fiction, Humour

Book Details:

ISBN 10:
ISBN 13:
Format: Hardback
Page Count:
Publisher: Jarrold & Sons Ltd, Norwich
Date Published: 1959
Language: English
Edition:


Book Options Available
Price (NZD)
Special Mentions
Condition: Acceptable (8362-1)
$19.00
Notes: Cover is slightly ripped, Cover is slightly worn

Synopsis:

Hoffnungism has now spread to most corners of the earth in one or other of its startling shapes and sounds. Its founder is a grapbic artist and a musical clown. Gerard Hoffnung was born in 1925 in Berlin, came to England as a small boy and was educated at Higbgate Scbool and Harrow School of Art. After a bout of school-mastering at Stamford and Harrow, be threw up this career and entered the visual arts. His drawings bave appeared in leading journals and art publications all over Europe and America and his books of musical cartoons bave become household articles in every musical home. Music also plays an important part in Mr Hoffnung's life. Tbe Hoffnung Music Festivals at the Royal Festival Hall are now an established part of concert life, and the records of these extravagant evenings of sympbonic caricature sell in thousands. At the most recent of these events Hoffnung appeared as soloist in Chagrin's Concerto for Conductor and Orchestra and the Press said that bis performance was in the tradition of Grock and Danny Kaye. Mr Hoffnung broadcasts regularly, is a Fellow of the Society of Industrial Artists and Honorary President of the London School of Economics. He lives in Hampstead, is married and has one small son and daughter.

Generic Used Book Descriptions:

Acceptable: These books are obviously well read or used. May have some stains and yellowing on pages; dust jacket will not be present or can have tears. Cover may be marked or damaged, spine may be creased. Should still be readable, however may contain loose pages. Some very old editions or rare copies may be significantly worn at the edges.


We strive to reduce unnecessary landfill by taking used books, second-hand books, paperback books, hardback books, pre-loved books, great reads and recycled books and then redistributing them throughout New Zealand, Australia and the rest of the world. Readers can connect online with book titles, helping them find new homes, and support reusing and re-loving books that are affordable. At Bookworms you’ll find cheap books, hidden gems and even some lost treasures. We have a passion for sustainability, being eco-friendly, eco-conscious and we aim to incorporate that into all that we do.

At Bookworms we keep things simple. So we charge one fee no matter the size of your order.

$5.00 - Any non-rural address New Zealand wide.
$9.00 - Any rural address New Zealand wide

Free Shipping

To qualify for free shipping if you are sending your order to a New Zealand postal address (rural or non-rural), your total order value must be over $50. You should see this as a shipping option at checkout.

Timeframes

Order before 5pm on a business day and we'll have the courier ordered for the following business days. This should have your order on your doorstep within 3 working days (allow slightly longer for Rural)

Tracking

We track all our orders, so if you are wondering where your order is either get in touch with us, or check the tracking link in the email you will receive after the courier has been booked. If you are having trouble with shipping, please get in touch and we can follow this up with the courier.

Overseas Shipping

While we can ship overseas, in the current climate (COVID-19) the cost of sending internationally has doubled (& for some countries even tripled) and The Bookworms Team have had to price shipping outside of New Zealand accordingly. We have faith the world will return to some semblance of normal and we can go back to being a more reasonable part of the global economy. The flat fee still applies for overseas orders.

Australia - $20
Rest of the world - $40

Because we are primarily dealing with second-hand products of varying conditions, The Bookworms Team does its very best to describe the condition of its products as accurately as possible. Our approach on this is that we don't want our customers to have any surprises when they receive their order. We'd hate for you to be waiting for a book and then it turns up in an unexpected condition. 

However we know that it can happen, the quality of the product delivered may not be what you expected, maybe we missed the mark when describing the product condition. Whatever happens, please get in touch with us to explain the issue and we will do our best to help out.

Depending on the situation, some ways we can help are:

  1. Provide a full refund of the price of the product.
  2. Refund a portion of the price of the product to match its condition.
  3. Source another copy of the product to meet your expectations.

In all situations we will abide by The Consumer Guarantees Act and The Fair Trading Act, but at the end of the day getting a book to right place with the right person is the aim of this game. We also reserve the right to request you to return the product at our expense, but this will not always be required, if it can still be used. 

The first step is contacting us if you would like to discuss the quality of the product you've received. We also love to hear from you with any positive feedback so we can make sure we keep doing the good stuff too.