Baker Towers - By Jennifer Haigh

Product Description
$6.99
Maximum quantity available reached.

Baker Towers


Written by: Jennifer Haigh
Category: Fiction, General

Synopsis:
Jennifer Haigh's second novel is an intimate portrait of love and family, which will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler and Carol Shields. Stanley Novak is a first-generation Polish immigrant. Seeking a better life, he settles in Bakerton and finds work in the booming local mine. He meets and marries Rose, a shy, beautiful Italian girl. They move to a mine-owned house in an area of town known as Polish Hill, teeming with immigrants from all over Europe, all chasing the American Dream. Five children follow for the Novaks. The Novak children belong to what will someday be known as the Greatest Generation, but for now, they are just trying to find their identities in a vastly changing world. The five children could not be more different. The eldest, George, avoids signing up but is drafted to the Pacific when America joins the war. He comes home determined to leave Bakerton behind, but finds it much more difficult the second time around. Dorothy is a fragile and naive girl, who finds it hard to cope with her desk job in Washington. Joyce, fiercely intelligent, must hold the family together and remains bitterly aware of the life that she could have had. Sandy, the youngest boy, swans through life with his movie-star looks, never taking responsibility for his actions. And Lucy, the youngest, must find her own path in the shadow of her formidable siblings. Haigh gives us a beautiful snapshot of a small town -- of company houses and union squabbles; the boom and bust of the post-war years; the immigrant neighbourhoods of Swedetown, Little Italy and Polish Hill; the miners, undertakers, soldiers, firemen and housewives who populate the town and bring it to life. Author Biography Jennifer Haigh is the author of the New York Times bestseller , winnerof the 2006 PEN/L.L. Winship Award for outstanding book by a New England author;and Mrs. Kimble, which won the PEN/Hemingway Award for debut fiction and was a finalist for the Book Sense Book of the Year. Both novels were number one Book Sense picks. Her fiction has appeared in Granta, Ploughshares, Good Housekeeping, and elsewhere. She lives in the Boston area. Read more
End;

Book Options Available
Price (NZD)
Special Mentions
Condition: Very Good (1)
$6.99
Notes: There are no special characteristics for this used book

Book Details:


ISBN 10: 0007150873
ISBN 13: 9780007150878
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 400
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Date Published: United Kingdom, April 4th, 2005
Language: English
Edition:

Generic Used Book Descriptions:


Very Good: These books have been read, but they are still in good condition. Wear and tear should be minimal. There should be no obvious damage to the cover, and have an undamaged spine with no tears. Pages will be intact, with none missing and no mis-prints or creases, and should not be loose. Dust jacket may not be present.


We strive to reduce unnecessary landfill by taking used books, second-hand books, paperback books, hardback books, pre-loved books, great reads and recycled books and then redistributing them throughout New Zealand, Australia and the rest of the world. Readers can connect online with book titles, helping them find new homes, and support reusing and re-loving books that are affordable. At Bookworms you’ll find cheap books, hidden gems and even some lost treasures. We have a passion for sustainability, being eco-friendly, eco-conscious and we aim to incorporate that into all that we do.

At Bookworms we keep things simple. So we charge one fee no matter the size of your order.

$4.50 - Any non-rural address New Zealand wide.
$8.50 - Any rural address New Zealand wide

Free Shipping

To qualify for free shipping if you are sending your order to a New Zealand postal address (rural or non-rural), your total order value must be over $30. You should see this as a shipping option at checkout.

Timeframes

Order before 5pm on a business day and we'll have the courier ordered for the following business days. This should have your order on your doorstep within 3 working days (allow slightly longer for Rural)

Tracking

We track all our orders, so if you are wondering where your order is either get in touch with us, or check the tracking link in the email you will receive after the courier has been booked. If you are having trouble with shipping, please get in touch and we can follow this up with the courier.

Overseas Shipping

While we can ship overseas, in the current climate (COVID-19) the cost of sending internationally has doubled (& for some countries even tripled) and The Bookworms Team have had to price shipping outside of New Zealand accordingly. We have faith the world will return to some semblance of normal and we can go back to being a more reasonable part of the global economy. The flat fee still applies for overseas orders.

Australia - $20
Rest of the world - $40

Because we are primarily dealing with second-hand products of varying conditions, The Bookworms Team does its very best to describe the condition of its products as accurately as possible. Our approach on this is that we don't want our customers to have any surprises when they receive their order. We'd hate for you to be waiting for a book and then it turns up in an unexpected condition. 

However we know that it can happen, the quality of the product delivered may not be what you expected, maybe we missed the mark when describing the product condition. Whatever happens, please get in touch with us to explain the issue and we will do our best to help out.

Depending on the situation, some ways we can help are:

  1. Provide a full refund of the price of the product.
  2. Refund a portion of the price of the product to match its condition.
  3. Source another copy of the product to meet your expectations.

In all situations we will abide by The Consumer Guarantees Act and The Fair Trading Act, but at the end of the day getting a book to right place with the right person is the aim of this game. We also reserve the right to request you to return the product at our expense, but this will not always be required, if it can still be used. 

The first step is contacting us if you would like to discuss the quality of the product you've received. We also love to hear from you with any positive feedback so we can make sure we keep doing the good stuff too. 

Looking for another good read?